Fonds Vols. 82, 83, 1627, 2611, 2941. - Zoar Mennonite Church (Waldheim, Sask.) fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Zoar Mennonite Church (Waldheim, Sask.) fonds

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

CA MHCA Vols. 82, 83, 1627, 2611, 2941.

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1963-2001 (Creation)

Physical description area

Physical description

40 cm of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Administrative history

In 1911 a congregation was organized in the Waldheim as a second group along with the Langham group to form the Zoar Mennonite Church. They met in rented facilities. In 1912, they built their own meeting house. In 1917 they joined the Conference of Mennonites. The meeting house was renovated in 1958. In 1960 there was a division of the congregation over primarily the language question. A new congregation was formed from this division, the Grace Mennonite Mission. The membership was 202 in 1960 and 153 in 1962. In 1981 the membership was 191. The membership stood at 181 in 2000. The leaders of the congregation were: Nicholas Toews (1910-1914), J.C. Peters (1910-1916), David Toews (1916-1920), Joshua Buller (1913-1920), Gerhard Buhler (1922-1932), John L. Zacharias (1932-1967), Jacob R. Schmidt (1929-1941), J.C. Schmidt (1943-1944), John Block (1943-1960), I.V. Schmidt (1956-1958), Jacob Mierau (1956-1958), David Dyck (1958-1960), Henry Penner (1961-1962), Henry Funk (1962-1964, 1965-1971), Jake Krause (1971-1975), Gerald Klassen (1976-1979), Benno Klassen (1979-1996), George Hoeppner (1996-1997), Barry Lesser (1997- ).

Custodial history

Scope and content

The fonds contains bulletins (1963-2001), annual reports (1964-1999), and directories (1966-1999).

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

No restrictions on access.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids


Link to MHC fonds level description

Associated materials

Related materials


Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

  • English

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres