Fonds BF505; Microfilm: R43-R45. - Main Centre Mennonite Brethren Church fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Main Centre Mennonite Brethren Church fonds

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description


Reference code

CA CMBS BF505; Microfilm: R43-R45.

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


  • 1904-1985 (Creation)

Physical description area

Physical description

3 cm textual records
3 reels microfilm

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Administrative history

The Main Centre Mennonite Brethren was founded June 1904 by recently arrived settlers from Steinbach, Manitoba. Main Centre is located 50 km east-north-east of Swift Current, Saskatchewan, and just north of Herbert. It was founded by 15 charter members and began worship under the leadership of Benjamin Janz. The church met in Main Centre school until the construction of a church building in 1907; this building was in continuous use until at least the 1980s. The first baptism was held on 16 August 1905. In 1915 they hosted the North District Conference of the Mennonite Brethren (later known as the Canadian Conference). Membership peaked in 1937 at 239. The economic oppression of the Great Depression forced many farmer- members to move to British Columbia or to other, more fertile, parts of Saskatchewan. The pastor at Main Centre Mennonite Brethren Church in 1999 was Kenneth Epp and membership was 74. Ministers, leaders, and pastors at Main Centre have included Benjamin Janz (1904-1915), Jacob D. Ewert (1906-1917), Johann P. Wiebe (1917-1923), Henry P. Janz (1924-1932), Jacob A. Martens (1924-1927, 1929-1940), Klaas Ewert (1928), Nick P. Janz (1923-1935, 1943-1950), Jacob F. Redekop (1932-1945), Abram P. Janz (1940-1941), Abram D. Remple (1941-1943), John D. Goertzen (1943-1953, 1954-1956), Johann Siemens (1953-1954, 1956, 1958-1961), Abram Goerz (1956-1958), Abram Siebert (1958), Rudy Heidebrecht (1960), David Epp (1961- 1969), Edward Hamm (1969-1973), Alvin Hamm (1973-1979), and Murray Unruh (1980-1984). Reg Toews was pastor (?— 1988 —?). Main Centre Mennonite Brethren Church has also been known as the Bethel Mennonite Brethren at Main Centre, Saskatchewan.

Custodial history

The Historical Commission of the Mennonite Brethren Conference microfilmed many of the records in 1978. .

Scope and content

This fonds consists of the following series: Historical notes, annual reports, church bulletins, membership and family records, and congregational meeting and Jugendverein meeting minutes.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition


Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

No restrictions on access.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Series description and file list available.

Associated materials

Related materials


Language of material note

Mainly German.

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

  • English

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres