Fonds BA-506; Microfilm: R50, R51 - Gem Mennonite Brethren Church, Gem, Alberta fonds

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Gem Mennonite Brethren Church, Gem, Alberta fonds

General material designation

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description

Fonds

Reference code

CA CMBS BA-506; Microfilm: R50, R51

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area

Date(s)

  • 1968-2001 (Creation)

Physical description area

Physical description

40 cm of textual records
2 microfilm reels

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

Administrative history

The Canadian Pacific Railway had developed farming areas in southern Alberta by their water diversion project to provide for irrigation farming. However, the first settlers were not successful after the first world war. Therefore, abandoned farms were available for new settlers. These were offered to the Mennonites in the late 1920s. One such settlement was Gem where Mennonites began arriving in 1928. They represented 3 Mennonite conferences: General Conference, Evangelical Mennonite Brethren, and Mennonite Brethren. They worshiped together in rented facilities the first year. Then in 1929 the Mennonite Brethren founded their own congregation and were accepted into the Alberta Mennonite Brethren conference with 24 charter members. The Evangelical Mennonite Brethren families continued to worship with the Mennonite Brethren group but the General Conference families met separately and built their own meeting house in 1947. In 1932 the Mennonite Brethren group built their own meeting house and in 1943 an addition was added. In 1933 they also began the Bethesda Bible School on the site which operated until 1957. A new meeting house was built in 1952 which has been renovated over the years. The membership stood at 100 in 2000. The leaders of the congregation were: Henry Siemens (1929-1936), P. P. Doerksen (1937-1959), H. H. Siemens (1959-1963), J. P. Doerksen (1963-1989), Larry Schmidt (1990-1993), Phil Born (1994-1997), John Block (1998- ).

Custodial history

Records were transferred to the Centre for M.B. Studies archives in Winnipeg, Manitoba on a regular basis to 2001. Some records were microfilmed in 1978 through the work of the Historical Commission of the Mennonite Brethren Conference.

Scope and content

This fonds consists of six series. Gem Mennonite Brethren Church history, Bulletins, Church registers, Annual reports and minutes, Gem Mennonite Brethren Church Youth committee records, Bethesda Bible School Board records.

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition

Arrangement

Language of material

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

No restrictions to access.

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Series description and a file list is available.

Associated materials

Related materials

Accruals

Language of material note

Much German.

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions

Status

Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Language of description

  • English

Script of description

Sources

Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres