Fonds 1978.14 - Assiniboine Historical Society Collection

Paving on Rosser Ave. 1st Street Bridge Original 1st Street Bridge Brandon Fire Department's 80-Horsepower Combination Motor Truck Old Central School, Brandon, Manitoba Laying Cornerstone of First Methodist Church Construction of Hanbury Lumber Company Construction of the Second 1st Street Bridge Inauguration of the Brandon Municipal Railway Tree-Planting Competition at Stanley Park, 1912
Results 1 to 10 of 72 Show all

Title and statement of responsibility area

Title proper

Assiniboine Historical Society Collection

General material designation

  • Textual record
  • Graphic material

Parallel title

Other title information

Title statements of responsibility

Title notes

Level of description



Reference code

CA DHM 1978.14

Edition area

Edition statement

Edition statement of responsibility

Class of material specific details area

Statement of scale (cartographic)

Statement of projection (cartographic)

Statement of coordinates (cartographic)

Statement of scale (architectural)

Issuing jurisdiction and denomination (philatelic)

Dates of creation area


Physical description area

Physical description

78 photographs
17 negatives
45cm of textual records

Publisher's series area

Title proper of publisher's series

Parallel titles of publisher's series

Other title information of publisher's series

Statement of responsibility relating to publisher's series

Numbering within publisher's series

Note on publisher's series

Archival description area

Name of creator

(1970 - 1995)

Administrative history

In January 1970, the start of Manitoba's centennial year, a group of historians from Brandon, Manitoba and surrounding area established the Assiniboine Historical Society (AHS) as an associated charter, or branch, of the Manitoba Historical Society. The initial officers were president Garth Stouffer, treasurer Lloyd Jackson, and secretary Connie Davidson. The society's mandate was to promote interest in public history; to publish and promote publications relating to public history; to collect and preserve local historical material; to mark and preserve historical sites; and to cooperate with the Manitoba Historical Society. All members paid yearly dues. Each year, a 12-member board of directors was elected at the society's annual general meeting (AGM). Two weeks before each AGM, a president, vice-president, secretary, and treasurer were elected. No officer was allowed to receive remuneration. The AHS held regular monthly meetings and hired two auditors to keep track of its books.
In 1972, the AHS produced a 25-minute film, "A Glimpse of Yesteryear," featuring still photographs from the late 1880s to 1904. In the mid-1970s, the AHS acquired the house of Brandon's first mayor, Thomas Mayne Daly, at 122 18th St., and transformed it into Daly House Museum. (The museum opened in 1978 and now holds the AHS's records.) The society lobbied against the demolition of Brandon's Prince Edward Hotel in 1980. That same year, it created the Westman Oral History Association, which recorded the experiences of early settlers to the area. As one of its final projects, the AHS produced the booklet, "Brandon: A Residential Walking Tour" (1993). The AHS disbanded in 1995.

Custodial history

Scope and content

The fonds consists of records collected and created by the Assiniboine Historical Society over the course of its existence. The records include photographs and other historical documents from the Brandon area; meeting minutes; financial records; correspondence records; heritage publications; film committee and street name committee documents; a constitution; documents relating to the Manitoba Historical Society; walking tour documents; and some miscellaneous files. The documents are arranged in the following series:

  1. Photographs and Other Textual Records
  2. Magazines
  3. Minutes
  4. Correspondence
  5. Committees and Miscellaneous Documents

Notes area

Physical condition

Immediate source of acquisition

The Assiniboine Historical Society donated its records and its collection of accumulated materials between 1978 and 1999.


Language of material

  • English

Script of material

Location of originals

Availability of other formats

Restrictions on access

Terms governing use, reproduction, and publication

Finding aids

Series 1: 1978.14.3 - 1986.14.130
Series 2: 1996.14.130 - 1996.14.159.1
Series 3: 1999.14.136.23 -
Series 4: 1999.14.137.1 - 1999.14.137.15
Series 5: 1999.14.139.1 - 1999.14.5
1999.14.132.1 - 1999.14.132.1

Associated materials

Related materials


General note

AHS Presidents: Garth E. Stouffer (1970-1972), Stephen A. Magnacca (1972-1975), Glen P. Sutherland (1975-1977), Hans Burmeister (1977-1979), Peter A. Winter (1979), Glen Olmstead (1980-1982), Malcolm A. Jolly (1982-1984), Dorothy Chubey (1984-1987?), Donna Gurr (1987-1988), Alf Kennedy (1988-1990), Bill Shwaluk (1990-1992), Richard Bruce (1992-1994), Morris Mott (1995).

Alternative identifier(s)

Standard number area

Standard number

Access points

Subject access points

Place access points

Name access points

Genre access points

Control area

Description record identifier

Institution identifier

Rules or conventions


Level of detail

Dates of creation, revision and deletion

Revised by Eva Janssen in July 2023.

Language of description

  • English

Script of description


Accession area

Related subjects

Related people and organizations

Related places

Related genres