Showing 3 results

authority records
Daly House Museum

Clement, Aleta Elizabeth

  • DHM
  • Person
  • 1876-1950

Aleta Elizabeth (Paisley) Clement
Aleta Elizabeth (Paisley) Clement was born January 18, 1876 in Petrolia, Lambton County, Ontario to Melissa Elizabeth Bull (1848-1922) and James Paisley (1843-1908). At the age of ten, she moved with her family to Brandon, Manitoba where she received her early education and later distinguished herself as a public speaker. In 1893 at 17 years of age, she graduated from Alma College in St. Thomas Ontario and later attended the Normal School in Ottawa, Ontario.
In 1894, Aleta returned to Brandon to begin teaching. She taught elocution lessons and grade three for the Brandon School District. On August 30, 1899 at 23 years of age, she married Stephen Emmett Clement Jr (1867-1947) in Brandon, Manitoba . They had four children: Harold Dixon Clement, Ethel Ruth Clement, Robert James Clement and David William Clement.
In the first three decades of the twentieth century, Aleta Clement emerged as a leading first wave feminist, a committed social reformer and an important political activist in Brandon and South Western Manitoba. In her commitment to community social issues, Clement was following in the path of her mother who, in 1892 was the first secretary of the new formed Brandon Hospital Aid Society. Her activism was also shaped by her involvement with the Women’s Christian Temperance Union and progressive tendencies within the Methodist Church . Her commitment to social equality grew out of her own personal experiences including family financial hardships and working as an underpaid elementary school teacher.
Aleta Clement was an active member of the Brandon Art Club and the Little Theatre. She was a member of the first YWCA board, the provincial child welfare board, and the First Church United board. She was a member of the organizing committee of the 1908 Wheat City Carnival and president of the 1909 Carnival of Nations.
In 1917, Aleta Clement succeeded president and founding member Jessie Turnbull McEwan as chair of the Brandon Local Council of Women (LCW) . As president of the LCW she was socially and politically active in the community. She was instrumental in the formation of a free Child Welfare Station in 1918, and, in 1920, selected to head a committee, representing various Brandon women’s organizations, to lead the fight against the Spanish flu. Aleta Clement played a prominent role in the 1922 Brandon School Controversy by advocating for equal pay between men and women educators. She was also an active organizer for the Progressive Party in the Brandon constituency in the elections of 1925 and 1926.
Aleta Clement was also involved in national social and political organizations as a convenor for the National Council of Women, and as an executive member of the League of Nations in Canada. Aleta Elizabeth (Paisley) Clement died in Winnipeg, Manitoba on November 9, 1950 and is buried in Brandon Municipal Cemetery.

Skinner, Isaac

  • DHM
  • Person
  • 1857-1935

Isaac Skinner, born 1857 in Lincolnshire, England, left home at the age of 12 to tend cattle on a cattle boat which sailed between England and Canada. At the end of two trips he left the ship and made his way to the Clinton, Ontario area where here decided at the age of 14 1/2 years to become a farmer. In November 1881 he married Hannah Cheasley of Drayton, Ontario. They came west to Portage La Prairie, Manitoba in early 1882. Isaac Skinner homesteaded SE 28-10-21 W in 1882 and received his homesteading rights to the property on March 19, 1883. A son, Leslie Skinner was born March 1883. Isaac and Hannah Skinner farmed in the R.M of Whitehead until 1912. Isaac Skinner died in 1935.

Brandon Liberal-Conservative Association

  • 1986.324.806
  • Corporate body
  • 1917-1964

The Brandon Liberal Conservative Association emerged in Brandon in the mid-1880s. Thomas Mayne Daly served as President of the Association and was elected to parliament in 1887 as the member for the Selkirk constituency. For a few years in the 1940s, the association's function changed temporarily as the Conservative Party of Manitoba entered into a coalition with the Liberal Party. Meetings were held in conjunction with the Manitoba Liberal Association. Throughout the existence of the Conservative Association, two smaller groups, the Ladies Conservative Association and the Young Conservatives Club, were directly associated with the Conservative Association and regularly sent delegates to meetings of the larger association. In October 1943, following the election of Manitoba Progressive John Bracken as leader of the federal Conservative party, the official name of the party and therefore the association changed to the Progressive Conservative Association. The Association continued in existence until 2003 when the Canadian Reform Conservative Alliance merged with the Progressive Conservative Party to form the Conservative Party of Canada. Prominent members of the association included Thomas Mayne Daly, David Beaubier, George Dinsdale, Mayor Stephen Adolph Magnacca, Walter Dinsdale, W. Leland Clark. Rick Borotsik was the last person to represent Brandon as a Progressive Conservative.